Willmar Civic Scholarship Association

  • Our Mission

    The Willmar Civic Scholarship Association's purpose is to annually honor scholastic achievement by awarding scholarships to Willmar Senior High School students to be used for their post secondary education. 


    Our Story 

    The Willmar Civic Scholarship Association is a non-profit organization that evolved from a meeting of the Education Committee of the Chamber of Commerce in 1958.  It was established for the sole purpose of rewarding academic excellence. The success of this program is due to the overwhelming generosity of local businesses, organizations, established memorials and individual community members. Their generosity directly benefits our graduates as they further their education.

    On behalf of the many young people we have helped send off to pursue further education, we extend a heartfelt thank you for your support. We look forward to continuing the mission of the Willmar Civic Scholarship Association established so many years ago.





  • If you, your family or your business would like to be a financial partner, please contact Deb Zinda Hanson at 320-235-7220 or deb.zindahanson@edmn.org.

Board Members

  • Deb Zinda Hanson, Chair
    Education Minnesota
    Justin Bos, Vice Chair
    Harvey Anderson & Johnson Funeral Homes
    Deb Willis, Secretary
    Designed Environments
    Tom DeBoer  
    Retired Pharmacist/Volunteer
    Carol Maursetter
    Retired Educator/Volunteer
    Nancy Strand
    Lake Region Bank
    Shari Courtney
    Quality Title of Willmar
    Tommy DeBoer
    Willmar Senior High School
    Paul Schmitz
    Willmar Senior High School                       
    Sharon Tollefson
    Willmar Area Learning Center
    Steph Slagter
    Willmar Senior High School
    Jill Stevens
    Willmar Senior High School
    Jennifer Hess
    Willmar Senior High School
    Heidi Dahline
    Bremer Bank
    James Miller
    Heritage Bank
    Mary Sawatzky
    Retired Educator/Volunteer